The time has finally come… for Arabic music!

“I’ve just remembered what you said… about being f*cked if you start hearing birds chirping outside… and I’m hearing birds chirping outside right now!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚”

^that was from my Saudi A friend (you know how Muslims have to pray 5 times a day and there’s this one timeslot where you do it super early? Well, he kind of “overstayed” after he was done with his prayers and had to go to work in around 30 minutes so…πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

I don’t know why I’m making this as my topic starter.

I’m about to head out to work in 2 hours and am too lazy to find pictures for the artists so sue me. πŸ™‚

[12:30 pm]: Yo I’ll send you the link hopefully I’ll be done by 1! Β πŸ˜‰

[1:05 am]: YOU BUFFOOOOOOOOOON!!!

*coughs*

Anywho, long time no see guys! It has been hell of a ride at work, and honestly, the customers meant the WORLD to me. It’s sort of ironic actually that it was them who kept me sane. Believe me when I say you are the reason that makes my job. so. damn. awesome! *hugs you guys till you can’t breathe* πŸ˜€

So for the past few weeks, I was fortunate enough to meet some Middle Eastern customers. Some of them were even nice enough to recommend me some artists and songs! πŸ˜€ (You’d think with 300+ million speakers it’d be easy peasy to just randomly search some songs that’ll just click to you, but nope, not with this lazy ass! :D)

Without further ado, here are the ones that I’ve handpicked from the bunch. Enjoy. πŸ™‚

Sherine – Masha3er (Feelings)

Ohh what to do with these feelings, what to do…?

Sherine Ahmed Abdel Wahhab, or, mononymously known as Sherine is a famous Egyptian singer and actress. The whole song & lyrics basically revolves around the word “feelings”. IIRC, the song was from some TV show during Ramadan 2014 or something??

Uhhhh anyways moving on.

Sakher Hattar – Ala Dalouna

hattar_photo

Sakher Hattar is a JordanianΒ oud player. It is similar to the lute and he’s renowned as one of the finest oud players in the region, and one of the most significant Arab musicians of his generations.

The music reminds me of a certain game* for some reason hmm…

*I fucking loved that game

Next up is Sharmoofers, a band that is based in Cairo, Egypt.

“We believe that music IS the way to happiness…”

sharmoofers-400x2421
Speak no evil, hear no evil, see no evil

Sharmoofers is a projectΒ by founders Ahmed Bahaa and Moe El-3rkan. Their genre is listed as “world music”, and you can hear reggae and ska elements in their songs. The vocalist does scat-like singing too, as seen below:

Sharmoofers – Hepta Song –Β 5, 6 Hepta

I don’t know why I laughed so hard when the guy at 0:42 came in HAHAHA! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

The song apparently jumps from topic-to-topic, so you can’t really summarize what they’re talking about. Also, the song is from a movie from what I’ve heard and some of the rappers are actors so you would only find it funny if you’ve seen the movie.

I feel your jealousy and I can smell your gloating,
Come here, talking is between you and me,
Keep your words for yourself, we will use it when we need it

^what the girl in black was rapping. Her nasal-heavy voice and different expressions throughout the video is very mesmerizing. The lively energy that the rappers beamed out ,and the humorous and positive vibe from the song was what captivated me in the first place!

(I’ve also just noticed he says assalam alaikum when the song starts, and also throughout their other songs as well. I guess it’s their “thing”? It was kinda funny when I gradually noticed their presence while checking out their other songs hahaha!)

Sharmoofers – Zombie

I have no idea what’s going on in here but I loved every minute of it. πŸ˜€

They do some social commentaries too from what I can make out from the lyrics and the video itself, “selfie”, “notification”, “hashtag” etc etc.

Sharmoofers – The Dream

I am slightly sad they did not response to my comment on their page. Is it not rare for an Asian to know about them?? :/

(im just kidding senpai plz notice meeee)

Anyways, this gal did a splendid article about them. πŸ™‚ You can check it out below:
http://www.madamasr.com/en/2014/05/18/feature/culture/band-of-the-week-sharmoofers/

More links down below:
Facebook:Β https://www.facebook.com/Sharmoofers/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/Sharmoofers/about
Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/sharmoofers
Instagram: http://instagram.com/sharmoofers_official

Last but not least, Hassan El Shafei, another Egyptian artist who took the Middle East by storm with his unique blend of traditional Egyptian music and modern electro & trance.

Hassan El-Shafei ft Ahmed Sheba – 6 Weshoosh

This was the one one of my customers recommended to me and I immediately loved it. It’s a mix of modern and chaabi done right.

Hassan El Shafei ft Abla Fahita – Mayestahlushi

They flip through my notebook, trying to figure out my words
Why so obsessed? My story belongs to me
They’re not worthy…

The vocals of this reminds me of Nightcall

Hassan El Shafei ft Nicole Saba & Abd El Basset Hamouda – Mafeesh Mostaheel

A song that slowly grew on me. Love Abd’s raw vocals in this. πŸ™‚

Hope you guys had a kick out of this as did I, likes or comments are appreciated as always. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

