Did I Build This Ship to Wreck?

Hi guys, I’ve been meaning to write about Florence + The Machine for a looooong time and am DYING to share it with you!! Also, 2016 hasn’t been a kind year for artists. RIP Prince. 😦

imagegen.ashx.jpeg

Regarding a conversation I had with a friend a few years ago…

Me: so which female artists DO you listen to then hmm?
Him: i listen to Florence Welch, Emilie Autumn, and Dracula.
Me: wat are you serious?
Him: no i’ve made them all up

😂😂😂

He always added “dracula” out of the blue in his conversations with his usual non-sequitur delivery, and with me still not being familiar with either artists at that time, genuinely thought he was joking. But the point that I’m trying to make, is, I didn’t like their music at that time (after I DID like them I told a friend of mine why the HELL they’ve chosen their “worst songs” to make their music videos to which he just laughed out loud haha.)

Florence + The Machine is made up of Florence Welch (lead singer), Isabella Summers and a collaboration of other artists. They’re renowned for their dramatic and eccentric production, and also Welch’s powerful vocals.

While my said friend from above demanded that I wrote a “thousandth-page apology” for dissing Lana Del Rey (his “guilty pleasure”), this is one that I would never regret taking the time to check out Welch’s Ceremonials album (by far my favourite) and, also, (in no small part) thanks to Kraddy’s remix of her song.

From chronological order, my favourite song from hers:

Florence + The Machine – Hurricane Drunk

I’m going out
I’m gonna drink myself to death
And in the crowd
I see you with someone else
I brace myself
Cause I know it’s going to hurt
But I like to think at least things can’t get any worse!

I hope that you see me, cause I’m staring at you
But when you look over, you look right through
Then you lean and kiss her on the head
And I’ve never felt so alive, and so… dead!

The first song my Russian friend sent me and my immediate favourite.

Florence + The Machine – Howl

If you could only see,
The beast you’ve made of me,
I held it in but now it seems you’ve set it running free…

Florence + The Machine – Blinding

Seems that I have been held in some dreaming state
A tourist in the waking world, never quite awake
No kiss, no gentle word could wake me from this slumber
Until I realize that it was you who held me under

Florence + The Machine – Only If For A Night

And I heard your voice as clear as day,
And you told me I should concentrate,
It was all so strange and so surreal,
That a ghost should be so practical

The song is about her grandmother who passed away when she was 11. Florence had a dream in which her grandmother appeared, telling her advice regarding her career which inspired her to write this song. The line “That a ghost should be so practical” obviously reflects how, instead of loved ones appearing in dreams saying things of endearment or “goodbyes”, her grandmother did a thing that “ghosts” wouldn’t “normally do”, which was being pragmatic to her.

Florence + The Machine – Never Let Me Go

And the crashes are heaven,
For a sinner like me

Florence + The Machine – Breaking Down

One of those sad-lyrics-happy-beat song.

Florence + The Machine – Lover to Lover

Florence + The Machine – No Light, No Light

I never knew daylight could be so violent,
Tell me what you want me to say

Florence + The Machine – Seven Devils

Seven devils all around you,
Seven devils in your house,
See they were there when i woke up this morning,
I’ll be dead before the day is done,
See I was dead when I woke up this morning,
I’ll be dead before the day is done

The song that made me fell in love with her!! Very, very underrated.

Florence + The Machine – All This And Heaven Too

But with all my education I can’t seem to command it,
And the words are all escaping, and coming back all damaged,
And I would put them back in poetry if I only knew how,
But I can’t seem to understand it

And last but not least, the song that’s playing at my work right now…

Florence + The Machine – Ship To Wreck

 

Leave a Reply

