The Hypnotizing Witch – Grimes

This scene always cracks me up so much. 😂

screen-shot-2012-08-22-at-9.38.19-am-e1345646398573

Huh, weird I’ve always thought I did a post about her! Guess it kinda slipped my mind while I was busy with the other foreign musicians… 😳

Claire Elise Boucher, better known as Grimes, is a Canadian singer-songwriter. Being involved with the underground music scene, she had a huge cult-following and gained critical acclaim with the release of Oblivion:

Though her slight-lisp and high-pitched voice isn’t my cup of tea, I do enjoy just watching her music videos, as they’re really visually appeasing. I didn’t call her a “hypnotizing witch” for nothing (witch, which was the first thing that came to my mind following “hypnotizing”… totally not meant in a negative way!)

My favourite music video:

Grimes – Genesis

The pink-haired metallic-clad girl is Brooke Candy btw. Both of them are equally entertaining in the video.

Grimes – Vanessa

With the release of her new song Go, though praised by critics, she has received some criticisms from her fans as they’ve felt she’s diverged from her original sound.

Grimes – Go ft Blood Diamonds

Happy scenes, a stupid dream when I dream of you
They don’t stay, it might all be delusion but I couldn’t say
Living up, giving up,
When I go, can I go with you?

Ironically, this is my favourite song from hers, though, the least visually-interesting for me.

Here’s a music video she released from her abandoned album:

Grimes – REALiti

A video of Grimes basically prancing around. 😂😂😂

Some of her recent songs:

Grimes – Flesh without Blood/Life in the Vivid Dream

Remember when we used to say,
“I love you” almost everyday

I love singing along Flesh without Blood! 😀 Some halloween delight for your eyes.

Grimes – Kill V. Maim

2:39 whoooaaaah~ favourite part to sing along 😛

Perhaps a more obvious part of her “ADD music” as she described herself. Love their robotic/”glitchy” dance moves!! ❤

For Grimes, I think of her more as a visual experience rather than a standalone music to listen to, since if you completely disregard her videos, you’re basically taking half the fun of enjoying her music. It’s also quite hard to make out the lyrics with the layers upon layers of vocal tracks and looping, plus, the lyrics themselves aren’t exactly “deep” to begin with – they’re very precise and short (not saying they’re bad), but still manages to be club-friendly.

Just a plebe’s 2 cents of Grimes. Now go enjoy her music! 😀

Leave a Reply

