My Beautiful Dark Twisted Life of Heartbreak

As I sit with my laptop on and sipping my rice green tea, I was thinking about what to write next. Chinese music? Russian? But there were too many #RMOTD, plus I don’t feel like writing about Chinese artists atm. But I’ve thought – why not just English? Just because it’s universal doesn’t make it any less special – also, this particular artist has been right in front of me all the time – yet he’s still considered “obscure” in my area.

A polarizing figure to all, I’ve decided to settle on Kanye West.

kanye1.png

Kanye West is one of the most critically acclaimed musician of the 21st century, but still receives some criticism from his outspoken personality, and perhaps, is also one of the biggest factor why some people are still hesitant to consume his music.

Now, I personally have no qualms about his occasional outbursts. Why? Maybe it’s because I saw some of his bits of personality in me, but (as crazy as this sounds), mostly because I understand why he’s like that. Yeah, c-razy right? But if you could get past from his egocentric outbursts, it’s really, really apparent. Would it surprise you if I told you he didn’t even really liked “Gold Digger”?

images

Well, no matter how the others negatively perceive him, no one can argue about his work ethic. His is only second to none, which could be seen when he was in a near-fatal car crash which shattered his jaw, and even 2 weeks to being admitted to the hospital, he recorded a song while his jaw was wired shut. Talk about dedication!

Before we move on, first I have a confession to make:

I will forever be eternally ashamed for being, as usual, slow to discovering him (even after a close friend of mine sent me “Love Lockdown” when it came out!!) and only during his MBDTF album that I seriously invested time in him!!

Ok, now that my walk of shame is done (for now), we can move on. 😂😂😂

kanye-west

Kanye West – Say You Will

Why would she make calls out the blue?
I wish this song would come true,
I admit I still fantasize about you, about you

The first song of 808s & Heartbreak, the song starts with a sound akin to a beeping heart monitor, giving you visions of a relationship coming close to an end, no matter how desperately Kanye tries to cling.

It also shows how different the entire album is gonna be from “The College Dropout” – a departure from his “old school tunes”. Ironically, the Black Eyed Peas released The E.N.D. later that year and received some backlash from the fans initially as well (since both went to very different directions on their new albums).

Kanye West – Welcome to Heartbreak ft Kid Cudi

YT comment: “Back when we had shitty computers so we can’t tell it was the video or not!” LOL! 😂😂😂

And my head keeps spinning,
Can’t stop having these visions, I gotta get with it
Chased the good life my whole life long,
Look back on my life and my life gone,
Where did I go wrong?

Another sentimental song from his. The lyrics shows the struggles and “what-ifs” prior to having these fame and wealth vs a stable and happy family life, “My God-sister getting married by the lake/But I couldn’t figure out who I wanna take/Bad enough that I showed up late/Had to leave before they even cut the cake/Welcome to heartbreak”.

Fun fact: An Uganda volunteer that I met told me he loved every song in 808s and played each of them when this song played while we were moving the donated furnitures. Also, said guy proceeded to look far away, tired, and sang through the whole song monotonously WITH HIS DEADPAN FACE. It was so excruciatingly painful and funny to watch to.

How he literally sound like–> “andmyheadkeepsspinningcantstophavingthesevisionsigottagetwithit” 😂😂😂

Kanye West – Amazing ft Young Jeezy

It’s amazing, I’m the reason,
Everybody fired up this evening
They like, “Oh God, why he go so hard,
Look what he’s been through, he deserves an applause”

Kanye West – Love Lockdown

I’m in love with you, but the vibe is wrong
See I wanna move, but can’t escape from you
I got something to lose, so I gotta move,
I can’t keep myself, and still keep you too
I’m not lovin’ you, way I wanted to,
I bet no one knew, I got no one new
If I be with you, baby I’m confused,
You choose, you choose…

The first Kanye song my friend sent me when it first came out. And as usual, I was too stupid and slow to pick up the signal. To this day I’ve still regretted what happened and wished I could turn back time. You all know what the lyrics mean so I guess I’ll make this part short.

Kanye West – Paranoid ft Mr Hudson

Tell me now
You really wanna spend your whole life alone?
A little time out might do you good, do us good,
Before we be done for good

Kanye West – Robocop

I really love the melody, even though the lyrics weren’t really relatable to me.

Kanye West – Streetlights

“An emotionally distressing track of an already depressed-focused album.” Passing by streetlights be it on a bus or walking, makes you think of passing by some “moments” that you casually dismissed or missed. It’s a really powerful statement.

Kanye West – Bad News

Didn’t you know I was waiting on you,
Waiting on a dream that’ll never come true?

Ouch. 😦

Kanye West – See You In My Nightmares ft Lil Wayne

Cause we were once a fairytale,
But this is farewell
And the night is young, the drinks is cold,
The stars is out, I’m ready to go

Would it be too much to say that I LOVED Lil Wayne’s “growling”? Love the Outkast’s Roses reference btw. 😛

Kanye West – Coldest Winter

On lonely nights I start to fade,
Her love’s a thousand miles away,
Goodbye my friend, will I ever love again?
It’s 4 a.m. and I can’t sleep,
Her love is all that I can see

Kanye West – Pinocchio Story

There is no Gucci I can buy,
There is no Louis Vuitton to put on,
There is no Y.S.L. that they could sell,
To get my heart, out of this hell,
And my mind, out of this jail

A freestyle from his Singapore concert. The song deals with the loss of his mother and the moments he’s missed.

Finally! Done writing for this album phew! Other than the length, I’d say it was the… “emotional flashbacks” that made it quite painful to write. Ah well. What’s done is done.

Kanye West – Dark Fantasy

Tell me how do you respond to students?
And refresh the page and restart memory?
Respark the soul and rebuild the energy?
We stopped the ignorance, we killed the enemies
Sorry for the night demons still visit me
The plan was, to drink until the pain’s over,
But what’s worse, the pain or the hangover?

0:22 for the start of the song. Posted the full film instead the live one since I liked Nicki’s intro. Sort of ironic how the lines above can relate soooo much to the students over here in HK. 😐

Kanye West – Power

YT comment: Kanye: Alright Im just gonna stand in front of this green screen for a few minutes and I’ma trust ya’ll to do some cool shit around me 😂😂😂

I just needed time alone with my own thoughts,
Got treasures in my mind but couldn’t open up my own vault,
My childlike creativity, purity and honesty,
Is honestly being clouded by these grown thoughts!
Reality is catching up with me,
Taking my innerchild I’m fighting for it, custody

Now this will be a beautiful death,
Jumping out the window, lettin’ everything go

My cousin’s Catholic gf bashed the music video because she didn’t like how Ye’ was portraying himself as god haha. But the music video is so sick though!! 😍😍😍 The chanting was great, lyrics speak volumes, and the video needed to be longer. 😛

Kanye West – All of the Lights ft Rihanna, Kid Cudi

YT comment: I came here because of the tits, I also came because of the tits. AHAHA 😂😂😂

Restraining order, can’t see my daughter,
Her mother, brother, grandmother hate me in that order

A “fun” song in the album. Fergie totally KILLED it! 😛

***Slightly NSFW***

Kanye West – Monster ft Rick Ross, Jay Z, Nicki Minaj

My money’s so tall that my barbie’s gonna climb it!

The song that got me into Nicki. Her verse KILLED this track. Period.

Kanye West – Runaway ft Pusha T

Favorite line:
Never was much of a romantic, I could never take the intimacy,
And I knew I did damage, cuz the look in your eyes, is killing me
And I don’t know how Imma manage, if one day you just up and leave

My number 1 favourite song of his in this album, and in all of his albums and how it made me pay attention to his music. The verse above, at that time, hit me like an oncoming truck. The heavily-circulated lyrics of “blaming”, along with the piano instrumentals, made me consider this to be Kanye’s magnum opus.

Kanye West – Hell of a Life

Um, nothing to say about the lyrics, I just love the production ahahaha. 😂😂😂

Kanye West – Blame Game ft John Legend

On a bathroom wall I wrote,
“I’d rather argue with you than be with someone else”
Till about 2 a.m. and I call back
And I hang up and start to blame myself
Somebody help…

The theory of this song is that the “relationship” Kanye was referring to meant “fame”, as opposed to a certain girl/ex. He recently revealed he contemplated suicide after his fall-out with T-Swift.

Kanye West – Lost in the World ft Bon Iver

I’m lost in the world, been down my whole life
I’m new at the city, and I’m down for the life

Hmm, reminded me how I was “new” to the “city” (Hong Kong). Ye doesn’t know what he truly wants, or how to get it, and I think, this is something that anyone can relate to at some point in their life.

…aaaand I’m done! Phew!

….what? Why are you looking at me like that? You think I was gonna post The Life of Pablo too? Ha! No, I just thought the title sounded more dramatic better than “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Heartbreak” haha. 😀

This one went a lot longer than expected, but I hope you guys liked the tunes that I’ve picked. 🙂

Leave a Reply

