Meet Cœur de pirate – French Female Composer!

Béatrice Martin, better known as Cœur de pirate is a Canadian singer-songwriter who sings mostly in French and has been credited for bringing “la chanson française” to a whole new generation of Quebec youth.

Although known in the French music scene for her pop music, little is it known that this petite femme also composed the whole soundtrack for the video game Child of Light.

cdp

I’ve actually known this French singer for quite a while – though I have to say I’m terribly ashamed she’s slipped through my mind after listening to her song Adieu. From the vague memory I had of her was her name (the French word “oe” “sticking together” along with the… interesting music video… yeah…)

ANYWAYS -coughs-, albeit giving the song a couple of listen, it sadly still didn’t stick with me… so when I saw someone share the whole soundtrack of Child of Light, I thought it was odd how the name of the composer reminded me of someone! Something like, “Nah, it can’t be from HER she only does pop music doesn’t she?”, those kinds of thoughts… and I’d have to say I’m extremely surprise the whole thing was done by a one-(wo)man-team! 😀

It may be offensive to say to you Ms Martin (or should I say Ms Peyrat) but I hope you stop making pop music and make more orchestral music instead. For the love of god! Do you not know how amazing it feels to know such a great female composer?!

We need more of Child of Light.

Seriously.

Now sit back, relax, and enjoy the wonderful music. 🙂

Leave a Reply

