What Say You Some Virtual Bands Eh?

One of the reasons why music can be so entertaining is because it can be so interactive. Most of the people want the real thing, but some people just don’t, and this is where virtual bands comes in.

photo

Btw sorry for my absence on the past few days! I was feeling a bit sick, plus with the New Year’s holiday going on this week I’m pretty much out and about!

Anywho, our first virtual band would be the Gorillaz, created in 1998 which consists of Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett. The band is fronted by 4 animated members: top-left is Murdoc Niccals, top-right 2D, bottom-left is Noodle, and bottom-right is Russel Hobbs. Performances are usually played behind a giant projector skin, playing out the animations/visuals of the fictional members.

My first-first impression on them when they were “really” “fresh out of the oven” was that I hated the animated members actually…! I especially didn’t like the look on the yellow teeth on them (LOL) and their green skin! But now I have come to admire Hewlett’s unique visuals and have started to grow on Murdoc! 😛 (Did you know Murdoc is “perpetually angry” with 2D because the “more attractive” 2D is the frontman of the band? 😉 )

Clint Eastwood


I see destruction and demise, corruption in disguise,
From this fuckin’ enterprise, now I’m sucked into your lies
Y’all can see me now ’cause you don’t see with your eye,
You perceive with your mind

Doncamatic ft Daley

This is another song shared to me from my Kobe-obsessed classmate back then. I thought the vocals sounded unique and I liked it.

Hong Kong

You can relax to this while sipping your tea!

For our second and last virtual band would be the annoying…

475x500-Crazy frog

…… Crazy Frog. Look at that annoying fucker with his smug face on and his wee-wee dangling in front of him! Ugh! But seriously, did you know he was originally known as The Annoying Thing? Ha.

So Erik Wernquist created this frog and Daniel Malmedahl is the one responsible for creating the infamous “ring ding dog” voice. In an interview of Erik voicing his displeasure of the name of choice, I am just gonna quote him:

If I had known that this was going to be such a big thing I would not have allowed them to use that stupid name. It has nothing to do with the character. It’s not a frog and it’s not particularly crazy either.

Haha. Suuuure it isn’t. I believe ya! ;D Now that THAT’S outta the way, enjoy some music:

I remember this video well. The cat-chase-mouse thing never gets old haha.

I think this video slightly revived a bit of interest back in Queen again, especially after that Pepsi commercial with Britney Spears, Beyonce and P!nk…

Bonus  song:

This is ridiculous I can’t believe every song of this in different languages at least has 30 mil+ views and some of them are over 100 mil+! :S

That’s all for today! Will be back to normal in next week since I’ll have to go visit my relatives in the spirit of New Years (yay! -fake enthusiastic fist pump-)

2 thoughts on “What Say You Some Virtual Bands Eh?

Leave a Reply

